3 minutes and 42 seconds of pure, genious filmmaking🎬

Today, on 221B, we celebrate the work of all the incredible people standing behind what I like to call a revolutionary filmmaking. For all of you cinematography lovers!

221bfilmmaking

And here are some of my favourite quotes from filmmakers of the past and present:

There are no rules in filmmaking. Only sins. And the cardinal sin is dullness.
– Frank Capra

If I were ever stranded on a desert island there would be three things I’d need: food, shelter, and a grip.
– George C. Scott

We don’t make movies to make money, we make money to make more movies.
– Walt Disney

I was always a filmmaker before I was anything else. If I was always anything, I was a storyteller, and it never really made much of a difference to me what medium I worked in.
– Nicholas Meyer

Film is incredibly democratic and accessible, it’s probably the best option if you actually want to change the world, not just re-decorate it.
– Banksy

My three Ps: passion, patience, perseverance. You have to do this if you’ve got to be a filmmaker.
– Robert Wise

There is no reason why challenging themes and engaging stories have to be mutually exclusive – in fact, each can fuel the other. As a filmmaker, I want to entertain people first and foremost. If out of that comes a greater awareness and understanding of a time or a circumstance, then the hope is that change can happen.
– Edward Zwick

Pain is temporary, film is forever!
– John Milius

I would travel down to Hell and wrestle a film away from the devil if it was necessary.
– Werner Herzog

My movie is born first in my head, dies on paper; is resuscitated by the living persons and real objects I use, which are killed on film but, placed in a certain order and projected on to a screen, come to life again like flowers in water.
– Robert Bresson

Editing feels almost like sculpting or a form of continuing the writing process.
– Sydney Pollack

There’s nothing quite like the idea of failing spectacularly to excite a film maker.
– Mike Figgis

Drama is life with the dull bits cut out.
– Alfred Hitchcock

The enemy of art is the absence of limitations.
– Orson Welles

A story should have a beginning, a middle and an end… but not necessarily in that order.
– Jean-Luc Godard

Nobody will ever notice that. Filmmaking is not about the tiny details. It’s about the big picture.
– Ed Wood

Movies took you right up to the edge but kept you safe.
– John Updike

Films are always pretentious. There’s nothing more pretentious than a filmmaker.
– John Milius

If filmmaking was a beautiful woman, I would have trouble wooing her because she’s a needy jerk.
– Justin Bundy

I think one of the privileges of being a filmmaker is the opportunity to remain a kind of perpetual student.
– Edward Zwick

Self-plagiarism is style.
– Alfred Hitchcock

What I always tell people is… Unless you are so passionate about filmmaking that you would rather live out of your car than not do it, find something else to do as a career and do filmmaking as a hobby. This industry is one of the hardest to break into and be successful. It takes a lot of passion and dedication for it to get anywhere…
– Ryan Connolly

A film is – or should be – more like music than like fiction. It should be a progression of moods and feelings. The theme, what’s behind the emotion, the meaning, all that comes later.
– Stanley Kubrick

No art passes our conscience in the way film does, and goes directly to our feelings, deep down into the dark rooms of our souls.
– Ingmar Bergman

All I need to make a comedy is a park, a policeman and a pretty Girl.
– Charlie Chaplin

Anxiety is the handmaiden of creativity.
– Chuck Jones

And later I thought, I can’t think how anyone can become a director without learning the craft of cinematography.
– Gus Van Sant

I think audiences get too comfortable and familiar in today’s movies. They believe everything they’re hearing and seeing. I like to shake that up.
– Christopher Nolan

Photography is Truth. The cinema is Truth twenty-four times per second.
– Jean-Luc Godard

A film is a petrified fountain of thought.
– Jean Cocteau

A director makes only one movie in his life. Then he breaks it into pieces and makes it again.
– Jean Renoir

Life is like a B-picture script. It is that corny. If I had my life story offered to me to film, I’d turn it down.
– Kirk Douglas

I hate television. I hate it as much as peanuts. But I can’t stop eating peanuts.
– Orson Welles

If a million people see my movie, I hope they see a million different movies.
– Quentin Tarantino

The end of a picture is always an end of a life.
– Sam Peckinpah

A lot of times you get credit for stuff in your movie you didn’t intend to be there.
– Spike Lee

If my film makes one more person miserable, I’ve done my job.
– Woody Allen

It’s all just one film to me. Just different chapters.
– Robert Altman

If there’s specific resistance to women making movies, I just choose to ignore that as an obstacle for two reasons: I can’t change my gender, and I refuse to stop making movies.
– Kathryn Bigelow

Pick up a camera. Shoot something. No matter how small, no matter how cheesy, no matter whether your friends and your sister star in it. Put your name on it as director. Now you’re a director. Everything after that you’re just negotiating your budget and your fee.
– James Cameron

In the future, everybody is going to be a director. Somebody’s got to live a real life so we have something to make a movie about.
– Cameron Crowe

Movement should be a counter, whether in action scenes or dialogue or whatever. It counters where your eye is going. This style thing, for me it’s all fitted to the action, to the script, to the characters.
– Samuel Fuller

I’m a storyteller – that’s the chief function of a director. And they’re moving pictures, let’s make ‘em move!
– Howard Hawks

One of the great things about being a director as a life choice is that it can never be mastered. Every story is its own kind of expedition, with its own set of challenges.
– Ron Howard

The directing of a picture involves coming out of your individual loneliness and taking a controlling part in putting together a small world. A picture is made. You put a frame around it and move on. And one day you die. That is all there is to it.
– John Huston

I think maybe making films is something innate you can’t really teach to begin with.
– Richard Linklater

But having a really good understanding of history, literature, psychology, sciences – is very, very important to actually being able to make movies.
– George Lucas

Cinema should make you forget you are sitting in a theater.
– Roman Polanski

A style is not a matter of camera angles or fancy footwork, it’s an expression, an accurate expression of your particular opinion.
– Karel Reisz

Cinema is a matter of what’s in the frame and what’s out.
– Martin Scorsese

People say I pay too much attention to the look of a movie but for God’s sake, I’m not producing a Radio 4 Play for Today, I’m making a movie that people are going to look at.
– Ridley Scott

A director must be a policeman, a midwife, a psychoanalyst, a sycophant and a bastard.
– Billy Wilder

What film made you fall in love with movies? Let me know in the comments below. Cut!

clapperboard-action

– Snowanna of 221B

3 comments on “3 minutes and 42 seconds of pure, genious filmmaking🎬

  1. I’d have to say the ONE film that made me fall in love with movies would actually have to be Sherlock. Whoever filmed and edited Sherlock was the best in my opinion, because of the perfect mixture of wide shots and close-up shots (they used the side-view, close-up arrangement a lot during the first two seasons of the show). This is still my favourite show as far as the photography, cinematography and producing goes.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

